Change Date in Linux/Unix/Aix

First of all ,you need to login as root user to change datetime in your Linux/Unix/Aix System. Execute this single command and reset system date.

Syntax:
date MMddhhmmccyy
Where
MM : Month (two-digit numeric month)
dd : Day (two-digit numeric day i.e. day of month)
hh : Hour (two-digit twenty four hours format)
mm : Minutes (two-digit)
cc : First two digits of the year (two-digit)
yy : Last two digits of the year (two-digit).

For instance, for 1st January, 2012 6:15 AM it will be like 010106152012.


date 010106152012

Thanks
A Rahim Khan

    • Asif
    • February 2nd, 2012

    Hello Bhaiya, My name is Asif. I am working in Information Technolongy in Brac Bank Limited. I am a fan of Linux. I have a certification in Linux from Horizons(CompTIA Redhat Linux) 4years ago. But right now i am forget everything that i Learned. Can you help me about that. I want to know how to set dns in Linux . I have configured linux in Virtual machine. Now i am waiting for setup the dns in linux. I think if you can assist me then it will be helpful for me.

    Regards
    Asif
    01674278393

    • you get me wrong, i am new in Linux. I just keep notes of my learning this way. i don’t even have good idea about dns. Sorry

        • Asif
        • February 6th, 2012

        IT’s ok. No problem. Can you tag me in skype, Then it will be better for me to talk with u. U know i am a very big fan of linux. Can it possible to do the work whatever we done in linux to share the thing wiht each other? My skype name is asifsujon. And my google talk is IM is asifsujon@gmail.com

        Best
        Asif

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

